Coverart for item
The Resource Paradise now : the story of American utopianism, Chris Jennings

Paradise now : the story of American utopianism, Chris Jennings

Label
Paradise now : the story of American utopianism
Title
Paradise now
Title remainder
the story of American utopianism
Statement of responsibility
Chris Jennings
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Jill Lepore, Joseph J. Ellis, and Tony Horwitz comes a lively, thought-provoking intellectual history of the golden age of American utopianism--and the bold, revolutionary, and eccentric visions for the future put forward by five of history's most influential utopian movements. In the wake of the Enlightenment and the onset of industrialism, a generation of dreamers took it upon themselves to confront the messiness and injustice of a rapidly changing world. To our eyes, the utopian communities that took root in America in the nineteenth century may seem ambitious to the point of delusion, but they attracted members willing to dedicate their lives to creating a new social order and to asking the bold question What should the future look like? In Paradise Now, Chris Jennings tells the story of five interrelated utopian movements, revealing their relevance both to their time and to our own."--Publisher website
Cataloging source
DLC
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
LC call number
HX653
LC item number
.J46 2016
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
Paradise now : the story of American utopianism, Chris Jennings
Label
Paradise now : the story of American utopianism, Chris Jennings
Publication
Copyright
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [387]-467) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Introduction : Man-made millennium -- The Shakers : American Zion -- New Harmony : The great infidel experiment -- The Fourierist Phalanxes : The lemonade sea -- Icaria : People of the book -- Oneida : Kingdom come -- Conclusion : The future ain't what it used to be
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
https://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?Return=1&Type=S&Value=9780812993707&userID=ebsco-test&password=ebsco-test
Dimensions
25 cm
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'f': 'http://opac.lib.rpi.edu/record=b3769780'}
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xv, 488 pages
Isbn
9780812993707
Lccn
2015008149
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)911517846

Library Locations

    • Folsom LibraryBorrow it
      110 8th St, Troy, NY, 12180, US
      42.729766 -73.682577
Processing Feedback ...